School of Rock- Day 6- Bass Basics

School of Rock – Day 6 – Bass Basics

SUMMARY

 

The history of the bass and how it works. How to make a bass line and use it in a musical composition.

CLASSROOM

Watch How Bass Works (47 minutes)

Write notes of topics you want to remember.

-the bass has only been around for 4 centuries

– bass is a central component of music

-bass lines haven’t always been around

-the tonic is the center of gravity ar a chord

-the bottom note on a chord is called the root

-the bass got its first big influence during the boroque period

-organs have a deep bass, it ruled with the best bass ever until bass instruments were made

-the bass was fully developed in the 1800’s

-the chromatic scale is more darker than other scales

-there is inversions that have a forword moing chord progressions

-the waltz has some bass in it that allowed a transition

-riffs are distinct little pieces of tune that repeat

-when amplification was made, bass instruments became to get more of a voice to be heard

-the bass in dance music has taken over as the melody

 

LAB

screenshot from HookTab
Screenshot from HookLab

this activity was good. I did good wth exporting the MIDI to Soundtrap. I learned that there is more than one file that you could use to download.

PRACTICE ROOM

Step 1: Watch How To Add Bass Notes [Guitar Strumming Lessons] by Tomas Michaud

Screenshot from Tomas Michaud video

Step 2: Download the guitar TABS for his exercise (PDF)

Step 3: Practice one of the exercises

Write a brief reflection on how both of these exercises are working.

I had a little struggle at first but han got better witht he exersizes.

Profile in Excellence

Screenshot from Polyphonic at YouTube

Profile in Excellence

Image from Wikipedia

OUTSIDE / JOURNAL / IDEAS

Screenshot from Quizlet Bass Composition Techniques

I knew a few o those words and meaning but most of them I didn’t know what they were. I knew what a cannon and intro was, but the others I had no clue of. I had no idea that a dscant was a melody that played over a already existing tune.

STUDIO

 

Screenshot from Kidsguitarzone.com

I definetly need work on compositions, but I was able to play a track and and then put another track behind or infront of the already existing one.

CONTROL ROOM

This was ok, the bass didn’t do much.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

I had some trouble on the MIDI file but I solved the problem. I was looking in the wrong spot to find it. I learned that bass lines weren’t alway around.  That was something I didn’t know before, and that the tonic note is at the bottom of the chord.

ACTIVITY EVALUATION

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 3

What interested you about the material?

I enjoyed the video, I didn’t know any of what he said before I watched the video.

Process (The HOW)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 4

Which activities engaged you most? Why?

I was more engagged in the practice room because trying to play the guitar is so cool learning a new instrument. By physically touching an instrument and being able to make noise and soise with it is very facinating.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *